Lucy Blake's Weblog


Ally Daniel, whore activist and so soooo much more
June 23, 2011, 2:16 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to put up an extra special blog for Ally Daniel who was a fierce sex worker and disability activist, an awesome sex worker, an amazing friend to many, a mentor and just a funny and thought provoking woman.

I met Ally at the National Forum. I was very scared going to the forum because I was going to do a presentation thing and if that wasn’t enough, I knew there were going to be some serious thinkers and some seriously qualified activists who had achieved a lot. Elena Jeffreys, Janelle Fawkes, Maria McMahon, Saul, EVERYONE who works with Scarlet Alliance … I was completely crapping myself. These people had been my manager, mentors, megastar idols for the 14 years I’d been a sex worker. Of course you won’t meet a lovelier bunch of people, but I’m so impressed by them, sometimes I’m scared lol.

I was hiding and staring intently at the grass hoping everyone would think I was to busy to talk (watching grass grow is complicated business after all). Ally came straight up to me and said “Lucy Blake – we should have had coffee ages ago”. Straight away Ally made me feel welcome and comfortable and important and special and as smart as she was. We talked about sex worker writing, sex workers organising, we both had a rant about how shit Uni is, how shit Uni lecturers are and the discrimination we faced. We talked the best place to get cake that was wheel chair accessible… she just had this extra special gift of making you feel like you were wanted, appreciated and like you had been a special part of her life forever. I’ve rarely EVER met someone who can do that.

Her generosity of time and spirit, compassion and heart were all inspiring and the world is now missing Ally. Many people feel  incredibly sad.

My heart and thoughts go out to Ally’s family and all the people who loved her. You are going to be so badly missed.

Below is a talk Ally gave at Parliament House

“We are awesome, we have achieved all this change and yet there is more change we need to achieve”

Whore power to you Ally and you will continue to inspire.

Many people walk thru life doing the normal things, doing everyday work, effecting the normal spectrum of people – shiny grey everyday people. Ally was RED, Ally was alive, Ally was passionate – you will know Ally was here always!

Lucy

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ally was my babysister, I loved her sooo much, she was always there to fight for justice even as a child. Ally always put others first I am so glad she fought so hard for your rights.

Sleep in peace my baby sis…….. I love you so much and miss you so much…….

Love and peace to you, you were my sister, friend and I am so proud of you.

Love your sister Donna

Comment by Donna Amon (Ally's sister)

That was a beautiful post Lucy. Ally was an amazing woman who always bowled me over when we chatted: with her perspectives on sex work issues and her passion and commitment for workers rights. And I agree she was easy to talk to. Plus she was fun to get trashed with! She is a real loss 😦
Wendy

Comment by Wendy

Vale Ally. Peaceful sleep x

Comment by Georgia French




Leave a Reply

