Lucy Blake's Weblog


Golden showers – the new cash cow!
February 1, 2011, 11:34 pm
Filed under: lucy blake | Tags: ,
Liddle fact for the day… In Canberra, they’re going to pay you $10 to pee in a jar to test you for Chlamydia. If I go for an STI test once a month, that’s $120 a year I get to spend on sex toys. Just think, in three years I’ll be able to buy my very own Rabbit vibrator!! I reckon, if I go just after I have my botox shots, I’ll be in with a chance to pass for 18 – 30! hmmm maybe not.

BUGGER! I didn’t get any stimulus money either. AND I didn’t get the free wart remover vaccine they gave the school kids. AND I I don’t qualify for free HepA and HepB shots in Sydney because I’m not a gay male or female I’m just a mutant hooker (although it does state in the National Hepatitis Strategy I am a priority population and should be vaccinated immediately AND FOR FREE). Numbnut Sexual Health Services are in charge of giving you that jab though.. I stopped going to them because they began refusing to give sex workers blood tests and swabs unless their mooshy wet bits were glowing mutant nuclear green from having such a high viral load of chlamydia.I can’t even get them to use a clean disposable tourniquet or give me jelly beans let alone a free vaccination.

Woe is me – until I get my face full of botox of course, then I’m on my way to Canberra for my $10 golden shower show!

Young Australians to receive $10 to undergo STD test

  • From: AAP
  • news.com
  • February 01, 2011 1:09PM

 

YOUNG Australians will be paid to get tested for chlamydia, as health experts look for new ways to combat rising rates of the sexually-transmitted infection.

Young people aged 16 to 30 who are sexually active will be paid $10 if they accept an offer at a participating pharmacy to undergo a chlamydia test.

The initiative is a pilot program running solely in the ACT but if it proves a success, Associate Professor Rhian Parker said it could be rolled out nationally.

Another $10 is given to the pharmacy for each test they perform, and Dr Parker said if it curtailed transmission of the infection then it would be money well spent.

“Absolutely … chlamydia has a significant cost to the community,” said Dr Parker from the Australian Primary Health Care Research Institute at the Australian National University.

“Treating infertility when women are in their 30s, for example, is a very expensive process.

“What we are trying to do is raise awareness, provide access to young people to testing but also to show that chlamydia is something that anyone can get that is sexually active.”

A chlamydia infection is usually easy to resolve with antibiotics but because it has no symptoms it can go unnoticed, and so untreated, for years.

The longer-term effect can be devastating, Dr Parker said, with two-thirds tubal infertility and a third of all cases of ectopic pregnancy attributed to the infection.

She said chlamydia transmission rates had “risen significantly” in the ACT over the past decade, as part of a trend seen across the country.

The pilot study is aiming to test 300 to 400 young people, meaning a total outlay of $6000 to $8000 in payment to those tested and also the pharmacies.

“When you have got something and you don’t know about it, why don’t we help you to make a good decisions about your health,” Dr Parker said of the rationale behind the Australian-first initiative.

“We are looking at what impact it has and it could be rolled out nationally if it is successful.”

There were almost 63,000 notifications for a new chlamydia infection nationwide during 2009.

There are six participating pharmacies – Devlin’s Garema Place, City Markets, Priceline and Pyes – in central Canberra and in suburban pharmacies in Hughes and Charnwood.

Read more: http://www.news.com.au/national/young-australians-paid-to-have-std-test/story-e6frfkvr-1225997684814#ixzz1Ci3YNZbI

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You actually make it appear really easy together with your presentation however I find
this topic to be actually something that I
feel I would never understand. It kind of feels too complex and very large for me.
I’m having a look forward for your next submit, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

Comment by botox




Leave a Reply

